You are here

James Crowley, Author of Monsterland

We're pleased to welcome author James Crowley to Island Books to discuss his new middle grade book, Monsterland.

It’s Halloween, and everyone in Charlie’s small town is excited for this year’s festivities. Charlie’s grandfather, Old Joe, is famous for his holiday haunts, and his pumpkin patch is the center of the town’s zealous celebrations. But for Charlie, Halloween’s just one more reminder that his cousin Billy isn’t around anymore. Charlie plans to keep to himself this year, hanging out in the haunted barn with his trusty dog Ringo.      

But when Charlie runs into some neighborhood bullies who are after his candy, he heads off into the woods to escape. He quickly gets lost, but spots a kid who he thinks is Billy. As Charlie chases after him deeper and deeper into the woods, he finds himself entering Monsterland—a mysterious place where werewolves live amongst trolls and goblins. Here he meets the Prime Minister, a vampire who tells Charlie he may be able to see his cousin again in this strange new land. Accompanied by a hulking monster chaperone, Charlie’s determined to find out just what happened to his cousin, and sets off to explore the secrets hiding in this uncharted territory.

“The book’s emotional journey is just as enthralling as its physical one, blending well and evoking the works of Norton Juster and Jeff Smith. A compelling, imaginative, cathartic journey.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review 

“Perfect for fans of Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children or readers looking for a monster tale that’s not overly scary.”—School Library Journal

Event date: 
Thursday, September 7, 2017 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Event address: 
3014 78th Ave SE
Mercer Island, WA 98040