You are here

Justina Chen in conversation with Shari Leid

Tuesday, May 7, 2024 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Justina ChenJoin us with middle grade author Justina Chen  speaking about her new book With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei  with author Shari Leid. 

Award-winning author Justina Chen delivers a powerful and heartfelt novel about a young girl who accidentally discovers she has an identical twin sister. This joyous novel about reunited adoptee sisters experiencing new family traditions, foods, and customs together is perfect for fans of Janae Marks, Kelly Yang, and Meg Medina.

On Dessie Mei Breedlove's first day at a new school in the middle of her sixth-grade year, who does she see? A classmate who looks exactly like her. As in: Dessie and Donna Lee have the exact same glossy black hair. The exact same brown eyes. The exact same cheeky smile. A secret DNA test reveals the shocking truth: Dessie and Donna are identical twins, adopted from the same orphanage in China, then separated into two different families: one white, the other Taiwanese American. The Breedloves and the Lees. Making up for lost time, the girls throw themselves into their newfound sisterhood, relishing every similarity. Cats or dogs (dogs!). Sweet or savory (both!). Favorite band (A2Z, duh!). But the small differences between the girls soon create tension...and when crisis strikes, Dessie must figure out who she is, where she belongs, and what it truly means to be a sister.

"Justina Chen is such a welcome voice in middle grade literature! With her engaging writing, readers will discover that America's promise is for all of us." -- Grace Lin, Newbery Honor winning author of Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

"When fate delivers a shocking surprise, Dessie's life is turned-upside down. Family and friendship are tested in this wonderful heartfelt novel about what it means to belong." -- Lisa Yee, Newbery Honor Winner

Justina Chen is the award-winning author of several young adult novels, including Lovely, Dark, and Deep and North of BeautifulWith Twice the Love, Dessie Mei is her middle grade debut. She lives in Seattle, Washington. You can visit her at justinachen.com.

Shari Leid is a friendship expert who's been featured on the Today Show and CNN, and is author of the Friendship book series. 

 

Event address: 
3014 78th Ave SE
Mercer Island, WA 98040
Books: 
With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei By Justina Chen Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063306523
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 7th, 2024